Oulton Park Race Report - MGOC Championship 2017

2019 MG Owners' Club - Production MG Championship

Race Report


Rounds 9 and 10  -  Donington Park 18/19th June 2018


Donington Park was a major UK circuit until it closed at the outbreak of war in 1939. Under the leadership of Tom Whaetcroft it re-opened for racing in 1977 and has become one of the most popular circuits on the UK motorsport calendar. In 2017 it was acquired by former F1 driver Jonathan Palmer whose Motor Sport Vision company have already invested a significant sum on the circuit infrastructure.


The MGOC races were on the supporting programme for the British Kart Grand Prix and would be held on the full 2.48 mile Grand Prix circuit.



The first four grid places were taken by MGF's with Simon Kendrick taking pole position for Race 1 with Martin Wills alongside him on the front row ahead of Stuart Plotnek and Mark Baker. The leading Class Z car of Steve McDermid was on row 3 with Nick Golhar. The ZR of Steve Darbey was on row 4 together with the leading MGB of Jim Baynam with the MGB's of Dave Amphlett and Marcus Holland and the leading Class B ZR160 of Matt Gozalves close behind. 


Round 7

The leading cars got off to a good clean start with Kendrick leading the pack into Redgate with Wills on his bumper in 2nd place ahead of Plotnek and Baker with leading Class Z car of McDermid in 5th place. Kendrick was never more than a few lengths ahead of Wills but looked to be controlling the race before a cooling problem forced him to retire on lap 6 leaving Wills with a 200 metre lead over Baker who had moved up a place following Plotnek's retirement on lap 3 with a suspension failure.


McDermid lead the Class Z runners but Darbey got past Golhar on lap 2 and began to close the gap on the leading Class Z car.  On lap 8 McDermid and Carbery got past the MGF of Baker into 2nd and 3rd places.  The blue ZR160 of Darbey closed to within a few lengths of McDermid and despite his best efforts over the closing laps was unable to get past and McDermid went on to take his first ever MGOC Class Z win by 1.1 secs from Darbey with Golhar taking 3rd place


Wills dominated Class F and went on to take the overall win from Baker who finished in 4th place behind the two leading ZR's.


In the Classic Class, Baynam took an early lead from Holland and Amphlett who were delayed by traffic on the opening lap. By then end of lap 2 Baynam had established a 300 metre lead and looked well in control with Fisher in 3rd place after the retirement of Holland. Baynam gradually extended his lead and went on to take a dominant win from Amphlett, Fisher and Holland.


Matt Gozalves retired on lap 6 leaving Sarah Sullivan to take the Class B win.


Round 8

For this race, Wills had pole position with Kendrick alongside on the front row.


When the red lights went out Wills and Kendrick both made perfect starts and were side by side on the run into Redgate but Wills made best use of the inside line to emerge in the lead ahead of Kendrick and Plotnek.  The battle for the lead raged until lap 3 when Kendrick retired with a recurrence of the cooling problem he had in the earlier race. Wills took the lead but a lap later slowed with a gearbox problem and began to drop down the order allowing Plotnek to take the lead. 


The ZR of Darbey had made great progress from 12th place on the grid and by lap 5 was right on the bumper of Plotnek's MGF and took the race lead around the outside of the Melbourne Hairpin on lap 5. Plotnekt then retook the lead at McLeans before Darbey retook the position later that lap along the main straight. Plotnek dropped another place when McDermid passed along the start/finish straight n lap 8 before Plotnek retook 2nd place at the Old Hairpin on lap 9 in what had become a frantic battle for the lead.


Plotnek's run in 2nd place wasn't to last long as he missed a gear exiting the Chicane and McDermid retook the place and set off after Darbey who by this time had a 50 metre lead. McDermid closed the gap over the final two laps but Darbey held on to take his first MGOC win by 20 metres from McDermid with Plotnek taking the Class F win from Wills who did remarkably well to finish the race having only had 3rd gear for most of the race In the Classic Class, Amphlett had a clear run into Redgate but Baynam held the inside line and nosed ahead on the run down the hill into Craner Curves. Baynam was initially chased by Amphlett but by mid-race had established a 200 metre lead and went on to take his second Classic Class win of the weekend from Amphlett, Millard and Fisher.


Sarah Sullivan was the only starter in Class B and duly went on to take her second win of the weekend


New lap records were set by Jim Baynam in Classic Class and Matt Gozalves in Class B




Steve McDermid - a great effort to take his first Class Z win in Race 1.

Steve Darbey -  an excellent drive from 12th on the grid to take an outright win in Race 2.


Visit the MGOC Championship website www.mgoc-championship.co.uk to see the full race results and current Championship positions.


Race Reports
Silverstone National
Castle Combe
Donington Park
Cadwell Park
Silverstone (International)


Sponsors | Championship Archive | Links | Suppliers | Privacy Policy