Mallory Park Race Report - MGOC Championship

2019 MG Owners' Club - Production MG Championship



Rounds 13 and 14 - Mallory Park  26th August 2019  

For the penultimate meeting of the season the drivers were making their first trip to the 1.35 mile long Mallory Park circuit since 2016. The circuit opened in May 1956 is a popular venue for car and motorcycle racing with a track layout consisting of two very fast corners and a tight hairpin. With an average lap speed for the fastest MG’s in excess of 85mph it is one of the fastest circuits in the UK.


On a hot and humid day, the MGOC South Staffs area brought around 50 MG’s to watch the racing and take part in a lunchtime track parade.



A grid of 18 cars were entered for the Qualifying session. The first three places were taken by ZR’s with pole position taken by Steve McDermid with Dave Mellor alongside him on the front row.  Will Sharpe was on Row 2 with the MGF of Mark Baker who was ahead of the MGF’s of Martin Wills, Paul Wisbey and the TF of Phil Walker. Bob Fisher has raced an MGB for over 20 years but had entered a ZR for his first experience of a front wheel drive race car.


Jim Baynam was the quickest of the Classic Class cars on row 5 with Malcolm Hill on row 6 and Dave Amphlett on row 8. Matt Gozalves and Dean Sullivan were the only entries in Class B and were side by side on row 7


Round 13

When the red lights went out McDermid made best use of pole position and was the first to show and lead the field into the fast and sweeping Gerrards corner ahead of Sharpe and Mellor with these three ZR’s gradually pulling away from the MGF of Wills. McDermid held the narrowest of leads before Sharpe took the lead with a well judged pass under braking into the Esses on lap 3. Mellor then got past McDermid on lap 7 to move into 2nd place and briefly took the lead on lap 17 but sadly retired from the race shortly afterwards leaving McDermid in 2nd place. Sharpe withstood some serious pressure from McDermid over the final few laps and went on to take the overall and Class Z win by 0.34 secs from McDermid with Olsson taking 3rd place in Class Z ahead of Golhar and Darbey who was frustrated by a lack of engine power.


Just behind the leading ZR’s a close battle was unfolding for the Class F lead with Wills, who was clearly enjoying his one-off return to the MGOC championship, having a tremendous battle with Baker and Wisbey.  Sadly, Baker retired on lap 9 with a broken crankshaft leaving Wisbey to chase Wills.  This battle continued to the flag but it was Wills who took the win ahead of Wisbey with Walker having a competitive run to take 3rd place in his TF.


In Classic Class, Baynam made a good start and got past the ZR’s on Golhar and Olsson off the start line to give himself some breathing space over Hill and Amphlett who were battling for 2nd place. As the race progressed, the ZR’s moved ahead leaving Baynam with a clear track and he gradually extended his lead with Hill holding 2nd place until lap 4 when rising water temperature forced him to ease off the pace allowing Amphlett to take 2nd place. Baynam reeled off the remaining laps in confident style to take the Class win ahead of Amphlett, Hill and Lovell.


Dean Sullivan lead Class B until lap 6 when he retired form the race leaving Gozalves to take another Class B win.


Round 14

McDermid made the best start from pole position to lead into Gerrards ahead of Sharpe with the fast starting MGF of Wills in 3rd place ahead of the ZR of Mellor, the MGF of Wisbey and the TF of Walker.


By mid-race the three leading cars of McDermid, Sharpe and Mellor had settled into a rhythm and the gap between them stayed constant throughout the race.  McDermid duly took the chequered flag ahead of Sharpe with Mellor recovering well after his problems in the earlier race to take 3rd place with Olsson putting in a strong drive to take 5th place in his ZR.


The Class F field was slightly diminished with the absence of Baker and Wills duly took an early lead from Wisbey.  Wills gradually extended his lead and had a rather lonely race at the front ahead of Wisbey who was forced to retire rom 2nd place on lap when the clutch on his MGF disintegrated.  Wills went on to take the Class F win from the TF of Walker who, after a recent history of non-finishes, was delighted to have his second trouble free race of the weekend to take 2nd place.


The race for Classic Class as a repeat of the earlier race with Baynam taking an early lead with Hill ahead of Amphlett until Hill once again dropped back with a rising water temperature.  Baynam was the last unlapped runner and went on to take his second win of the day from Amphlett with Hill in 3rd place ahead of Lovell.


Star Drive Trophies

These were awarded to:
  • Martin Wills – two typically committed drives including a hard fought win in Race 1
  • Adrian Olsson – a welcome return to form with strong drive in Race 2.


Race Reports
Silverstone International
Brand Hatch
Donington Park
Oulton Park
Castle Combe
Mallory Park


Sponsors | Championship Archive | Links | Suppliers | Privacy Policy